Search the Archives           Subscribe           About this News Service           Reader Comments

Archived updates for Wednesday, September 06, 2006

New USPTO Advisory Committee Members

The USPTO named three new members to the Patent Public Advisory Committee (PPAC) and three to the Trademark Public Advisory Committee (TPAC). They will serve three-year terms on the committees advising on the management of patent and trademark operations, respectively, including goals, performance, budget and user fees. The committees have nine voting members who are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Secretary of Commerce.

The new PPAC members are:

Kevin Rivette, Palo Alto, CA – Vice President of Intellectual Property Strategy with IBM, patent attorney, entrepreneur, and co-author of "Rembrandts in the Attic."

Douglas Patton, Irvine, CA— Founder of Patton Design, a consulting firm that helps companies with strategy and new product development. Most recently, Mr. Patton developed a revolutionary new car seat for children that won the million-dollar first place prize on ABC's television series "American Inventor."

W. David Westergard, Boise, ID— Director of Patent Licensing and European Litigation for Micron Technology Inc.

The new TPAC members are:

Jeffrey M. Samuels, Akron, OH— Assistant Commissioner for Trademarks from November 1987 to January 1993, and currently David L. Brennan Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Intellectual Property Law and Technology at the University of Akron.

Jacqueline Alvarado Leimer, Chicago, IL— Vice President and Associate General Counsel for IP for Kraft Foods.

Lorelei Ritchie de Larena, Tallahassee, FL— Assistant professor at Florida State Law School
    (0)comment(s)     translate     More Updates     Send