Search the Archives           Subscribe           About this News Service           Reader Comments

Archived updates for Wednesday, September 12, 2007

EPO: London Agreement to Get French Vote in November 2007

The French government adopted on 24 August 2007 a bill authorising ratification of the London Agreement. It will be discussed in the Assemblée Nationale and French authorities expect it to be voted by late November 2007. The deposit of ratification instruments could be expected early 2008. The Agreement would then enter into force three months later. The Agreement will apply to all European patents granted after the entry into force.

The London Agreement is an optional agreement between member states of the European Patent Organisation, which lightens translation requirements for patents. Signatory states renounce to demand the integral translation of patents in their national language. Instead, only the claims of the patent are to be translated. A translation of the description of the patent will no longer be required.

According to the Agreement, and given the current state of the ratification process, the ratification by France is the last condition for the entry into force of the Agreement among its ten signatories so far. Countries having ratified the London Agreement to date are: Germany, United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco and Slovenia. The parliaments of Sweden and Denmark have also approved the Agreement. Accordingly, the London Agreement can be expected to enter into force shortly in 12 of the 32 member states of the European Patent Organisation.

    (0)comment(s)     translate     More Updates     Send